Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
The Matassini Law Firm, P.A. Your trusted legal advisors since 1976

Tampa Hit & Run Accident Lawyer

If a driver is involved in a collision and injuries are involved, they are required by law to stay at the scene until law enforcement arrives. To leave the scene of a crash when injuries are involved is a felony in Florida. Even though it is a crime to leave, around 25 percent of all traffic crashes in Florida are hit and run accidents. Typically,  a traffic victim can file a personal injury claim for compensation from the at-fault driver’s insurance company. When the at-fault driver does not stay on the scene, this becomes impossible and the injured party is left with the consequences. Luckily, there are still options for recovering compensation to cover the extensive costs of being injured in a hit and run accident. Our Tampa hit & run accident lawyers at Matassini Law Firm can help.

How Compensation Can Still Be Recovered

There is a chance after a driver flees the scene that the police may still be able to find them. Perhaps you are able to identify the make, model, and color of the vehicle before it takes off, making it easier to track down. The vehicle may be spotted because of the damage it sustained during the collision or the driver may recognize their error and turn themselves in. If the driver is identified, you can sue them for damages. If, however, the police are not able to find the driver you still have a few options for seeking compensation based on your own insurance.

  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP)—All Florida drivers are required to have at least $10,000 in PIP insurance coverage. Regardless of fault in a crash, this is the first insurance policy that applies. In a hit and run crash, you can seek compensation from your PIP policy.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist—This is an additional insurance that you may have as part of your auto policy. Typically uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is for when the liable party does not have adequate auto insurance to cover the damages you sustained in a collision. However, Florida is one of the states where you can also seek compensation from your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage if you have been hit by a driver who flees the scene and is unidentifiable. 

What to Do If You Have Been in a Hit and Run Collision

The most important step in any traffic crash is to seek medical attention for any injuries. This might mean you are immediately whisked away in an ambulance. If you are coherent and able to stay on the scene until law enforcement arrives, it is important to document as much of what happened as possible. This means asking witnesses for their contact information, requesting they provide a statement to the police, taking photos of the crash scene, and writing down any details you recall about the driver who fled the scene.

Contact A Tampa Hit & Run Lawyer

Being involved in a hit and run accident is overwhelming because the person who should be held responsible for all of the damages left. Let the Tampa hit & run attorneys at Matassini Law Firm help you seek compensation to cover the costs. Call us at  813-217-5715 to schedule a free consultation.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation