Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
The Matassini Law Firm, P.A. Your trusted legal advisors since 1976

Tampa Car Accident FAQ

A car accident can turn your life upside down, and you will have many questions afterward. It is important to know your legal rights, and how to protect them after any crash. The below Tampa car accident FAQ will address some of the most pressing questions you have, and the answers to them.

What Steps to Take After a Crash?

The most important step after a car accident is to remain at the scene. This is not only required by law but if you are injured, you should also stay at the scene until a paramedic arrives. If no one else calls for an ambulance, you should so you can get the medical attention you need. Remaining at the scene will also ensure you are there when the police arrive so you can provide details for the police report.

While waiting for emergency personnel, you should exchange information with all other drivers involved, as well as with eyewitnesses. If you can, also take pictures of the accident scene, the vehicles involved, and your injuries.

What is the No-Fault Law in Florida?

Under Florida’s no-fault auto insurance laws, you must file a claim with your own insurance company after a car accident, regardless of which party was at fault. If your own personal injury protection (PIP) does not fully cover the cost of your losses, you can then file a lawsuit against the negligent party.

What if More than One Person Was to Blame?

It is not uncommon for more than one person to be at fault for a car accident. When this is the case, Florida’s comparative negligence law will apply. Under this law, you can still claim damages even if you were 99 percent at fault for the crash. However, it is still important to work with a lawyer that can refute these claims so you recover the full damages you deserve.

When are You Required to File a Police Report?

There are certain instances in which you are required by law to file a police report. These include when an accident results in injury, death, or property damage that exceeds $500. If the accident involved a drunk driver or a hit-and-run driver, you should also call the police.

How Much Time Do I Have to File a Lawsuit?

The statute of limitations in Florida states you have just four years to file a lawsuit after a car accident. If you do not file a lawsuit within that time, you will likely lose your legal right to claim any compensation at all.

Our Tampa Car Accident Attorney Can Answer All Your Accident Questions

If you have been injured in a crash, our car accident attorney at The Matassini Law Firm, P.A. can answer all of your Tampa car accident FAQ and advise you of your rights. Call us today at 813-217-5715 or fill out our online form to request a free consultation.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation