Tampa Attorneys Fight Florida DUI Charges
Experienced former prosecutors work for your best possible outcome
A DUI is a classic example of how an error in judgment can land an otherwise solid citizen in a great deal of trouble with the law. Although DUI laws are appropriately tough to discourage dangerous behavior, not every person charged with DUI deserves to feel the full weight of the law. In fact, many drivers are illegally stopped and erroneously charged, which makes a staunch defense even more crucial. At The Matassini Law Firm, P.A., our criminal defense attorneys are committed to pursuing every possible option to deliver the best possible result.
Florida DUI laws and penalties
Under Florida law it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle when the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) exceeds the legal limit:
- For all drivers — .08 percent or higher
- Drivers under age 21 — .02 percent or higher (Baby DUI)
- Commercial vehicle drivers — .04 percent or higher
For all drivers, a BAC of .15 percent or higher carries more severe penalties than a standard DUI.
A driver convicted of DUI in Florida faces the following penalties:
- License suspension — For a first offense, the license suspension runs from 180 days to one year. For a second conviction, the suspension is five years and it is ten years for a third.
- Jail and fines — A first DUI is a misdemeanor offense with a jail term up to six months and a fine of up to $2,000. A second offense is also a misdemeanor; jail terms run to nine months and fines are up to $4,000. Third convictions are also misdemeanor offenses, carrying jail time up to one year and a minimum fine of $4,000.
Florida law does allow some first time offenders to plead to the lesser charge of reckless driving with alcohol, also known as “wet reckless.” Our criminal defense attorneys work diligently to help ensure your best outcome.
Understanding Florida’s implied consent law for DUI testing
Florida law states that anyone who drives on the public roads has already consented to a blood, breath or urine test if arrested for DUI. Refusal results in an automatic suspension of the driver’s license. However, it’s important to note that implied consent does not pertain to a roadside test a police officer may use to determine grounds for an arrest. A driver may refuse a Breathalyzer test or a field sobriety test without penalty, unless the driver already has a DUI conviction. But beware: a refusal to take a roadside test can be used against you at your DUI trial.
Call our Tampa DUI attorneys for capable representation in your case
To protect your license and your freedom, you need the best legal defense possible after a DUI arrest. The Matassini Law Firm, P.A. works diligently for your best possible outcome from the moment you call. Call us today at 813.379.2007 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.